The Chapter

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. Kappa Omega Zeta Chapter In the spring of 1981, Soror Vivien H. Hansbury invited a group of sorors to a meeting to discuss the feasibility of chartering a chapter in Montgomery County, PA. Assisting in this effort was Soror Alean E. Boyce. These women felt the true meaning of Sisterly Love should pervade amongst sorors. Ultimately, twenty sorors applied for a charter in Norristown, PA – and overcoming many obstacles – the application was approved.

Kappa Omega Zeta Chapter was chartered on July 31, 1981. The chartering ceremony was held on September 13, 1981 in the home of Triumphant Soror Beulah G. Folk. Soror Kathryn T. Malvern (Atlantic Regional Director) performed the ceremony, and Soror Priscilla Johnson (Pennsylvania State Director) assisted.

Charter Members

  • Patricia D. Akins
  • Eleanore V. Armstead
  • Alean E. Boyce*
  • Lorray Brown
  • Kate Evans
  • Beulah Folk*
  • Blanche Glover*
  • Cynthia Guinyard
  • Dianne Hannah
  • Distinguished Soror Vivien H. Hansbury
  • Joan A. Harris

  • Naomi James
  • Brenda Johnson
  • Marilyn Quarterman
  • Edith Rambeau*
  • Mary Riley
  • Demetria Spencer
  • Monique Wells
  • Jacqueline F. White
  • Terry J. Wilson

Attendance at the reception included: sorors, Sigma brothers, representatives from all other black Greek-lettered organizations, the Inter-Greek Council of Metropolitan Philadelphia, and many friends.

Since its chartering, Kappa Omega Zeta Chapter has served as the host chapter for state and regional conferences, numerous Founders’ Day celebrations, and has won numerous awards on the local, state and national levels for its community service initiatives. Our chapter members have also held elected and appointed positions on the state, regional, and national levels of the Sorority.

Chapter Basilei

  • Distinguished Soror Vivien H. Hansbury (1981-1986)
  • Beulah Folk (1986-1988)
  • Alean Boyce (1988-1992)*
  • Millie Boatright (1992-1994)*
  • Judy Cox (1994-1996)
  • Nancy Cottman (1996-1997)
  • Judy Cox (1997-1998)
  • Barbara Cousar (1998-2000)
  • Sheila Howard (2000-2002)

  • Kimberly Smith (2002-2004)
  • Diane Charles (2004-2005)
  • Arlinda Willis-Clark (2005-2006)
  • Alberta Scott (2006-2010)
  • Dionne Watts-Williams (2010-2012)
  • Alberta Scott (2012 – 2014)
  • Jakita R.P. Johnson (2014 – 2016 )
  • Denise McKinney (2016 -2018 )
  • Sheree Ellison ( 2018- )

*Triumphant Soror


On July 11, 1982, the Zeta Amicae and Archonette groups became official members of the extended Kappa Omega Zeta family. Our youngest members, the Pearlettes, were organized on November 14, 1991.